ArtCharts Daily Astrology

ArtCharts Blog
ArtCharts on Facebook
Astrology Shop
Personal Reports
Forecasts and Predictions
Relationship and Compatibility Reports
Numerology Profiles
Karmic and Past Life Reports
Business and Career Reports
Relocation Reports
Health and Healing Reports
Learn Astrology
Tip Jar

Merlin Report
This report is complete, comprehensive and beyond astrologese, yet with amazing insights. Receive eye-opening awareness of your mental and emotional nature, and areas in which you tend to excel or have difficulties. More...

ArtCharts Astrology GLOSSARY

Legend of Astrology Symbols

These are basic astrological definitions, included to enhance your understanding of Astrology and your personal Astrology report. For a full discussion of Astrology concepts, please visit artcharts LEARN ASTROLOGY and learn more:))

THE PLANETS | THE SIGNS | THE HOUSES | THE ASPECTS | Basic types of aspects | Condition of your planets | Special points in your chart | lunar mansions


The Sun and the Moon - Basic central core of the personality. These two bodies represent how we make decisions, how we act, and what we value.

Mercury, Venus, and Mars- The personal planets. These planets indicate our everyday concerns, our interaction with others, and our immediate environment.

Jupiter and Saturn - The planets of the culture. These planets represent our ability to interact with our society and its laws and values.

Uranus, Neptune and Pluto - The planets of our higher evolution. These planets show our ability to focus on issues that transcend our immediate life and culture.

Top of page


Fire Signs - Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius
Earth Signs - Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Air Signs - Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Water Signs - Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Cardinal Signs - Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn
Fixed Signs - Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius
Mutable Signs - Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces

Get more information about the signs, the elements, the qualities

Top of page


1st - Your personal appearance and your immediate environment
2nd - Your self worth and your orientation toward the material world
3rd - Your integration of basic experience and ability to learn
4th - Your home and family
5th - Children, romance and creative expression
6th - Work, health and your facility with detail
7th - One on one relationships. Marriage and partnerships
8th - Community resources, sex, ultimate issues, financial institutions
9th - Foreign travel, higher education, ethics and legal principles, insurance, publishing
10th - Career and social standing
11th - Friends and higher aims in life
12th - The unconscious and social institutions
The Ascendant - The beginning of the first house
The Midheaven - The beginning of the tenth house

Top of page


***Basic types of aspects***

Hard or difficult aspects - Semi-square, Square, Sesquiquadrate, and Opposition. These are the aspects that help us recognize the ingredients in our personality that need changing.

Easy or soft aspects - Trines and Sextiles. These are the aspects that express our talents and skills.

Growth aspects - Semi-sextiles and quincunx. These are aspects that give us opportunity to grow. They indicate long term development of some key aspect of your personality and behavior for this life time.

Power aspects - Conjunctions, Parallels, and Contra-parallels. These are the aspects that show energy, force, reorganization and transformational ability.

***Condition of your planets by aspect***

Afflicted - A planet is called afflicted when it has only hard (difficult) aspects. These planets represent our greatest challenges and our more promising areas of growth.

Unafflicted - A planet is unafflicted when it is not limited to only hard aspects. This can mean that the planet has no aspects, has only easy aspects, or has both hard and soft aspects.

Well Aspected - A planet is called well aspected when it has no hard aspects. This shows ease of expression and a certain ability to bring the ingredients symbolized forward into life with little or no conflict.

Top of page

***Special points in your chart***

Ascendant - This is the same as the cusp of the first house. The Ascendant refers to your physical body and how you meet the world, how you present yourself.

Midheaven - This is the same as the cusp of your tenth house. The Midheaven refers to how we rise and fall in life, our social position and our orientation to our family, culture and history.

Moon's North Node - Our direction in life. How we form relationship bonds with the environment as well as people.

Vertex - A point in our chart were we tend to feel out of control. It is a place where we easily give ourselves over to something beyond the scope of our own life.

East Point - A place of idealism and perfection in your chart. It functions as another way of contacting people.

Part of Fortune - A point where we put many parts of our motivation together in a personal way. It shows personal joy and fulfillment.

Lunar Mansion - The Moon travels around the Earth in 27 days and since the effects of the Moon are so profound to life on Earth, ancient Vedic astrologers divided the motion of the Moon into 27 separate parts, or Mansions. 360 degrees divided into 27 days gives the Moon about 1 day in each Moon Mansion-- the exact division of time is not important. Each Mansion is ruled by a planet, sometimes 2, which is what gives each Mansion it's different character. Planetary rulership is based on the relationship of the zodiac to the orbit of the Moon.

Top of page

Copyright 1996-2019 Artcharts
Home | Privacy Policy | About Us | Contact Us